Skip to content

Burning Bridges

February 18, 2007

I'm not sure if it's the extreme cold weather we've been having or the
funerals that our family has had in the last few days but I just feel
cold all the way down to my bones.  My stepmom's mother died last
week after a long battle with respiratory problems.  Then two days
ago my mom's brother died and his funeral was today.  I love
coming from a big family, but one of the unpleasant sides of it (at
least for me) is that means there seems to be more seasons of death for
the family.  My uncle had burned a lot of bridges in the last
several years.  He made choices to disengage from the family, even
his own children and grandchildren.  While I always felt sorry for
my cousins, I feel even more badly for them now. 

I am fortunate enough to still have both of my parents and I cherish
every day that they are still here with us.  I know that the day
will come when that won't be the case (at least I hope — I don't want
them to experience the pain of loosing a child.  It's just not the
natural order of things.) but I want to live every day appreciating
them for the people that they are and not expect them to be something
else.  There have certainly been times that we didn't see eye to
eye on things that could have very easily turned into hard feelings and
disconnecting from each other.  I'm glad that, for the most part,
we've been able to remain “adult” about it though and thath we choose
to stay family.   
Who knows, maybe one day they'll even be able to tell me that I did the
right thing choosing to have a gaggle of kids and homeschooling
them! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. HSBFrontPorch permalink
    February 19, 2007 8:28 am

    I so love the Bible verse that says, "How blessed it is when brothers dwell together in unity." Sometimes it's so easy to let things divide us from each other, but it really is a blessing when you can get past the differences and maintain a relationship in spite of them.

    I'm sorry for all the loss you've been experiencing, but we always learn something from it, even when it hurts.
    Blessings,
    ~Nancy

Leave a Reply

