Skip to content

Location, Location, Location!

February 8, 2007

I will never understand how people LOVE the snow.  I seriously
would love to live somewhere exotic that stayed about 75 degrees year
round and never even know what the stuff looked like.  Honestly,
it is pretty when it's totally undisturbed, but once the tires start
and the slush comes, seriously, what is the point?  Public schools
have been closed, and with having a public schooler in the house right
now, it's been a little crazy.  Monday – Wednesday she didn't have
school.  Today she went and tomorrow is already on a 2 hour
delay.  I wonder if they ever cancel school in places where it
doesn't snow?  Of course, C thinks that since cousin isn't going
to school then he shouldn't have to do school either!  Ahhh, the
privileges of homeschooling!

Honest, I love where I live.  We definitely have four full
seasons.  I just could do without this one, especially when I try
to go anywhere with three littles.  Winter and 75 degrees would be
AWESOME!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Musketman permalink
    February 9, 2007 12:46 am

    I love the autumn, but it would get boring and loose it's magic if I had to live with it all year long, that is why I tolerate the winter, because I know all things move in cycles. There's been many a days I've threatened to move down south, but once I was there I longed for the cold north and moved back, odd, isn't it?

  2. PattyMarie permalink
    February 9, 2007 7:56 am

    When we're working out in the cold, he says, "Did I tell you I hate cold weather?" And I assure him, "Only three times today." He's a rural mail carrier-driving with his window down, up and down the slippery, hilly roads of Wayne County, WV. For a hobby (when he has ?spare? time), he rebuilds and paints cars. He's very talented, but come cold weather he shuts his garage except for personal auto repairs and maintenance.

    For our 25th anniversary we went south…to Savannah, GA…in early November '06. Guess what!? That wasn't quite far enough south. The warmest day of our 10 day trip was the day we got home to WV!!!

    I was raised in the sunny south most of my childhood. But after living in Maryland for 3rd-5th grade (my dad was in the USMC for 30 yrs), the first winter in North Carolina was amazing to me. It was nearly 72 degrees on Christmas day!

    We've had beautiful snow, a snow day for my ds, and several 2 hour delays this week. My tomato seedlings are jumping up. I think I'm ready for a warm, southern breeze to waft across my face about now…

  3. Jewel permalink
    February 9, 2007 9:05 am

    I hear you…I can't stand winter, no matter how many I go through and I wouldn't miss it ever. 🙂

  4. vgauthier permalink
    February 9, 2007 1:31 pm

    See, this is a bit of humor here for me, it have been -20 (yes minus) most of the last 2 weeks in the AM, not including wind chill. Also snow. We get a fair amount, but we hardly EVER cancel school. We've been back up north for 3 winters now, and dd has had 1 snow day in the 3 winters thus far ~ where we got 18+ inches in one storm from about 5 Am to noon. It seriously has to be THAT bad to cancel here. As a matter of fact she took ski lessons last week on the mountain, temp was 10 or so below, windchill was -30 something (yes minus!)

    You may not have to like winter to live here, but you do have to learn how to deal with it ~ me? I love it ~ and the colder the better, and as much snow as you like (just not during the commute)

    val

  5. Sweetmama2 permalink
    February 13, 2007 10:26 am

    -40 with wind chill is not unheard of here.
    atleast the cold kills the flu buggies and such in the air.
    Sweetmama

Leave a Reply

