Skip to content

On and on and on and on…

June 27, 2006

Wow!  I never expected to have so many conversations with people about why we are homeschooling.  I knew my family wouldn’t be wild about it.  They’re semi-quietly keeping civil about it at least.  Other people however are just rude.  Now that Christopher is 5 everyone is asking if he’s enrolled for Kindergarten yet.  Normally before I can even answer he’ll say "actually we’re homeschooling."  Then I get this look like I just grew three additional heads.  Again, I KNEW it wasn’t going to be the most popular decision in the world.  I guess I just never thought that people who don’t even KNOW us would care.  I guess I just don’t get it.  I feel like I need a prerecorded message attached to me that says "press here if you want to know why we homeschool."   I think the biggest thing that gets me about it is the fact that everyone seems to think it’s okay for now, but once he gets to a grade ‘where he’ll actually be learning something’ then I HAVE to send him off to school. 

I am so grateful for the online communities and the homeschooling friends we have through church that are so supportive!  It makes such a difference!

We are doing great with the CoreK that we’re using from Sonlight.  We’re definitely going slow, but I love it.  I don’t feel pressured to get things done.  Christopher is doing amazing with his reading and his excitement level.  He wants to be able to do everything now though and I’m trying to keep him focused.  We did great yesterday and he just didn’t seem into it today so we stopped for a while.  Instead of working on the handwriting we just did some reading together.  He loves reading and math so much!!  I do expect that his ability level on the handwriting will improve after his surgery on Thursday to fix his trigger thumb.  While he MOSTLY uses his right hand to write, there is a part of him that wants to use the left and the trigger thumb causes problems with that.  The doctor did indicate that if he continues to have problems with the right hand, they might want to fix the trigger on that hand as well, even though it isn’t as bad as the right.  Either way, I have no doubt he’ll start writing better with practice. 

Just like the Energizer bunny…we go on and on and on…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

