Skip to content

What is a sloth?

May 17, 2006

The kids are enjoying a new show on PBS called "It’s a Big Big World."  The key character is a sloth.  Christopher, is all his curious glory, asked me today "Mommy, what exactly is a sloth?"  So, we just did a search. 

The sloth got its name from its slow movement. It is not lazy, just slow-moving.  The sloth lives in trees and spend most of their lives hanging upside-down from tree branches; they eat, sleep, mate, and give birth upside-down in the trees. They hold onto tree branches with strong, curved claws that are on each of their four feet.  Male sloths are solitary, shy animals. Females sometimes congregate together. Sloths are nocturnal; they are most active at night and sleep all day.

Among other things we found this was the definition that is sticking most with the kids.  They can’t imagine hanging upside down all day, especially for eating and sleeping.  I can’t imagine giving birth while hanging upside down!  Just shows it’s all in the perspective. 

I’ve been feeling much like a sloth myself the last couple of days.  I’ve been VERY slow moving and I could definitely sleep the day away.  I have got to find a way to minimalize my life or I’m going to drown.  We have too much of everything.  What is it about humans that we can’t get rid of things that we don’t use?  What are we saving it for?  Today is one of those days that I think the best present in the world would be a dumpster in the back yard and I could just heave things into it.  Tupperware with no matching lids, more mixing bowls that 1 person could ever use, and just how many shirts does one little boy need anyway?!?

Heavenly Father, give my spirit the rest that it needs that I can awaken to a new outlook on my life.  You have blessed me beyond anything I ever imagined and yet I feel much like a sloth.  Renew me Lord.  Give me the energy to move on and do the things that I know I need to do.  Thank you Father for the abundance that you have given our family.  Teach me to discern what is important and what isn’t and how to bring organization to it all.  Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

