Skip to content

Week of Christopher – Day one

May 3, 2014

It’s so hard for me believe.  13 years ago, I was eagerly waiting for my first labor to kick in.  I had no idea what to expect and in the couple of weeks leading up to his birth, we rushed to the hospital thinking things were starting.  On Wednesday of this week, Christopher – my oldest – turns 13.  He’s turned into a man this year.  Not really a man, but he’s not a little boy either.  He’s 6′ 1″ or maybe it’s 2″ now, and he looks less and less “little” every day.

So, I’m going to post some old pictures for a week and cry in my tea about how my baby is getting all grown up and don’t need me anymore…mostly because it embarrasses him.  Isn’t that my job?  Well, one of them anyway.

This first picture of Christopher is one of my favorites.  He was such a big baby.  At birth he was 10 lb, 14 oz and 23 inches long.  This newborn picture of him…he’s wearing a 6 month outfit.  His first Christmas, he wore 2T PJs.  At his current size and growth rate, I can’t tell you that it has gotten any easier keeping him in clothes.

8 days old

I love these next pictures.  After a couple of kids were born, it was my plan to do these pictures (next to the numbers) every year for the first 5 years and then have ‘school pictures’ each year.  The place where we had these made, and I’m sure many of you will recognize them, ended up no longer being an option after a while so that plan changed.  I do especially love having them for Christopher though because his growth is so evident in them.  The numbers are all the same height, so you can see just how much he grew each year.  I can still remember him standing next to that number 1.  His outfit has a Pooh on it and I had found Pooh tennis shoes for him to wear as well.  His pudgy little legs just rolled over the top of those shoes.  I’m NOT crying…nope…not doing it.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2014 1:31 am

    You really need to do something about your failure to thrive babies.

    • May 3, 2014 1:34 am

      I know, right?

  2. wvmamaw permalink
    May 3, 2014 12:55 pm

    Hard to believe he is going to be a teenager. Love you Christopher Matthew!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. May 6, 2014 12:53 pm

    They grow up SOOOOOOOOOO fast!!! My Angel, Chelsea, would be 21 next month. My Rainbow is 19. How time flies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 520 other followers

