Big Black Bomb Bird – Sean’s 9th Birthday


One last birthday for 2013!  After three girlie birthdays, it’s always nice to have Sean’s big day.  This year’s cake seemed to be a walk in the park after last year’s Transformer Cake.  That was mostly me taking the easy way out.  He requested an Angry Bird cake and originally he wanted a large black bomb bird as his whole cake.  I just couldn’t do it.  The thought of that much black fondant was too much for me, so he suggested an Angry Bird scene.  That I could do…I think.  I love it when they are willing to make it easier on me.  ;-)

He loved it.  I would have liked to have done some things differently and I REALLY need to get better about writing on cakes, but you can tell it was an Angry Bird cake, so that counts!

I normally try to do something with the cake that indicates how old they are that year, without putting the number on the cake.  Sean has had a few cakes now (his T-Rex, Thomas, and this one) that I used clouds on.  That’s probably not interesting to anyone but me, but I found it neat.

This picture cracks me up.  Gosh, he’s old!  Look how much smoke all those candles produced!

Sean loved his new pocket-knife and his fun cards.

I need to ask him what this card said…(Mamaw, was it from you?)  Love how he’s got his money all spread out so he can check it out as he opens his cards.

I try to take an ‘all siblings’ picture on each birthday.   This one was great.  I moved the chair to put Liam closer to the other kids 2 seconds after I took this picture.  The meltdown that followed was unreal, so it’s the only picture I can post.

This last picture wasn’t from Sean’s birthday, it was a few weeks later at Christmas.  I ordered this for him thinking it said it was a 6″ bomb bird.  Imagine my surprise when the box arrived and I saw its actual size.  He LOVES it though!  Angry birds!

Happy Birthday, Sean P.  You are growing up way, way, way too fast!!

heart-th

Categories: Birthdays, Blessings, Cake Decorating, Memories, Sean | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Big Black Bomb Bird – Sean’s 9th Birthday

  1. Milo noticed we have the same birthday candles. I have used them over and over again for almost 1 year. LOL

    • We don’t often reuse them. We let them burn a bit on the cake and the kids like to light them at other times…lol

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 519 other followers

