Skip to content

Where is that “Easy Button”?

April 4, 2013

ease

So many times I wonder “where is that STINKING easy button?”  It really is too bad we do not have a Staples locally.  I’d buy one.  I really would.  It wouldn’t work, but the stress relief from hitting it would be great.  I’d probably need about 100 of them (to start), because let’s be honest here…I’d probably hit them all sweet and easy like it was a joke at first.  Then I’d take a hammer to that button when it started mocking me!   EASY?  EASY?  YOU CALL THIS EASY?!!! *BAM*  Yeah…saves money on therapy.

This time of year, it is GREAT to be a homeschooling mom.  I’m going to keep that statement limited to moms.  If I had to venture a guess, homeschool dads would rather us moms not even know about this time of year.  For those that don’t know, it is curriculum time!!  There are homeschool conventions ALL OVER THE COUNTRY for months and months!  All those glorious curriculum vendors have booths set up.  Some of them are small booths, some of them are crazy big, but the same thing is true at all of them.  Us crazy homeschool moms…get to hold that sweet curriculum in our hands.  We can pick up the books, turn the pages, and when no one is looking – smell them.  I’m not saying *I* smell books, because let’s face it, that’s just weird, but I have heard about it happening.  {whistle of innocence}

Picture from Sonlight.com

Personally, I have been SO blessed.  I agonized for a very long time before settling on our curriculum choice when Christopher was old enough to start school.  I think I talked Andrew’s ears off…at least twice…before deciding.  In then end, we chose a literature based curriculum (Sonlight Curriculum) and have mostly stuck with it since.  That doesn’t matter this time of year though.  That makes it harder to look at other curriculum options without feeling like I’m cheating, but it doesn’t keep me from looking.  I have to admit that deciding on how to proceed THIS year was agonizing.  I knew what I wanted to do, but Sonlight made changes to that core for this year.  Nothing major and I’m sure the new book selections are good books too, but I don’t really like to change.  Because of that, I considered moving everything to a new curriculum company.  I looked at totally different learning styles.  I looked at free and expensive and get-all-your-books-at-the-library choices.

So, for someone who doesn’t understand how this works, why is our curriculum such an important decision?

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!?

I’m not going to kid anyone here. I am in NO way Wonder Woman. (Andrew might disagree.) Do I do things other moms don’t? Sure.  Do I NOT do things other moms do?  You betcha.  However, when it comes to educating my children…that is one of the most important things I will ever do.  E.V.E.R.   When they are grown and we are no longer guiding them, the education…the life skills…they are getting now will be one of the most important things we have given them.  Who these children grow up to be is a gift from God and a product of their upbringing.   People will not blame their public school teacher if my kids are misfits, they’ll blame us.  People won’t blame how little attention my kids got from their parents, they’ll blame how we spoiled them and sheltered them from the real world.  (Give me a minute while I laugh about that…)   I could go on and on, but you get the idea.

Now, personally, I don’t care what people think or who they blame.  If I did, I would have given up a long time ago.   I do, however, care what God thinks.  I’m doing this, we’re doing this, because we are called by God to do it.  My kids are smart.  They are getting a good education.  Truth be told…the curriculum is a HUGE help, but it is not the be-all, end-all.  It comes down to how much time and effort we, as their parents, are willing to put into it.  They don’t have to sit in a desk or at a table to learn.  It’s an attitude that all of life is learning.  Some of that you get from books…most of that you get from life.  So much of learning will come naturally when kids are given the freedom to follow individual interests and the freedom to know that if you fail, life isn’t over, you just have to keep trying.  You won’t always succeed.  However, if you don’t try, you cannot succeed.  It’s that simple.  You can add whatever curriculum you want and the kids will most likely learn.  Don’t get me wrong – it’s gravy to choose and use one that fits both you (I LOVE literature) and your kids (they do too!).

Ultimately, we are still a Sonlight family.  I had to decide a little earlier than we normally do because the changes went into effect April 1st with the new catalog.  We decided to stick with the core I was planning to use, but use the current version (as of time of ordering) that had the books that are now no longer in that package.  It arrived today and the kids are already asking when we can start.  They tried to act like it was awful to receive a new big box of books for school, but as soon as I cracked it open…they were ALL over it.  So was I — I even forgot to take pictures!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 12, 2013 7:47 am

    I love buying curriculum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 519 other followers

